Eat Your Heart Out

After college, I was on a very tight budget due to student loans, a car loan, and credit card debt. In order to make ends meet, I had to figure out how to minimize my daily food expenses.

I limited my diet to only cheap food that I knew how to make. However, I had been spoiled by the meals at the college cafeteria and never bothered to learn how to make anything on my own. I didn’t own a cookbook, and I didn’t have access to recipes on the Internet, which was pretty sparse at the time anyway.

So for those of you, particularly guys, who are in need of a reason to watch a cooking show, you should check out Giada De Laurentiis on the Food Network:

4 Responses

  1. Why can’t the future just be here already and we have microtized all of our daily nutrients into a daily pill?

    Instead I get $0.98 Totinos Supreme pizzas at Winco. I mean, there’s like carbs (bread), protein (cheese, meat), and veggies on that? Not very futuristic, though.

    Seriously, for idiots with cooking like me…FOOD PILL!

  2. The alternative to the food pill for me would be the food gum, just like the one on the Willy Wonka movie but without the blueberry blowup side effect. I’ve found that it’s not so much the eating that I enjoy, it’s really more about the chewing.

  3. That is freaky. I could live on pizza and PB&J Sandwiches

  4. I was fortunate enough to have a job on campus that afforded me lots of free eating. I worked for a cultural center and their biggest draw was cooking demonstrations. I didn’t learn anything, but I sure did eat a lot, which for me, meant that the money I saved from buying food, was spent on alcohol – a college kid’s dream.

Leave a Reply

